General news about or of interest to the ISG and its members.

Keynote speakers confirmed for ISG 2012

The keynote speakers have been confirmed for the ISG meeting in Aberystwyth this August. We are very happy to announce that Professor Robert Kirsch from Case Western Reserve University, Cleveland, Ohio, and Professor DirkJan Veeger from the Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam will be speaking at the conference. Titles will be added shortly to the main conference page.
If you haven't already done so, please don't forget to register at We look forward to seeing you in Aberystwyth.

Online registration now open for all

Online registration for ISG 2012 in Aberystwyth is now open for all. Please visit the following link to register for the conference:
Please note that to qualify to for early registration rates, you need to register by July 11, but I would encourage you to register as soon as possible as places are limited to ensure an intimate and productive meeting.
We look forward to welcoming you to Aberystwyth! Further details of the meeting can be found on the main conference page.

Extension to ISG 2012 deadline

Due to popular demand, the deadline for abstracts to the 2012 ISG conference will be extended by one week. If you have not already done so, please send me your abstracts by Wednesday the 28th of March.
Details of where to send it are on the main conference page.
Thanks and apologies to those of you who stayed up all night to get it to me today!

Updates regarding ISG 2012

We are pleased to announce two updates regarding the ISG conference next year. The first is that selected papers will be published as full articles in a special issue of Medical & Biological Engineering & Computing (MBEC) following the conference. The second is that the ISB has kindly agreed to award a number of travel grants for students wanting to attend technical group meetings next year. For details of this scheme, see the ISB website.

Results of the board elections

Now the voting for the ISG board is closed, I am happy to inform you on the election results:
we had 36 e-mail votes, all of which were valid. Each member was allowed to vote for five board members from a list of six candidates, whose CV's were added to the invitation.The spread of votes was as follows:
John Borstadt:  26
Ed Chadwick:   34
Andrea Cutti: 35
Clark Dickerson: 24
Cathy Holt: 28
Andrew Karduna: 30
which means that John, Ed, Andrea, Cathy and Andrew are elected for the new board. 
I would like to congratulate the new board with this result  and am confident that they will do a good job!!!
Dirkjan Veeger

Syndicate content